Don’t Judge Others Romans 2 , Matthew 7

Who may worship in your sanctuary, Lord?
    Who may enter your presence on your holy hill?
 Those who lead blameless lives and do what is right,
    speaking the truth from sincere hearts.
 Those who refuse to gossip
    or harm their neighbors
    or speak evil of their friends Ps 15:1-4

                In judging others we condemn ourselves.  If we don’t stay constantly in the Word it’s easy to fall into sin. Being a Christian does not give us a pass to judge others- however there is a scripture that says you can judge one in your church assembly to correct an issue ( 1 Corinthians 5 ) . It’s a thin line, but I think it would be best to stay away from

1-      Gossip- Do not spread slanderous gossip among your people (Lev 19:16)
2-      Slander- Hiding hatred makes you a liar; slandering others makes you a fool (Prov 10;18)
3-      Pride and haughtiness-I will not tolerate people who slander their neighbors. I will not endure conceit and pride (Ps 101:5)
4-      Wrong thoughts of others
5-       Complaining about others-Do everything without complaining and arguing (phil 2:14)

Proverbs 10:19 Too much talk leads to sin. Be sensible and keep your mouth shut.

Sometimes I’ve found myself doing just that- talking about others- who don’t do things I agree with. The Holy Spirit immediately convicts me and reminds me I need to work on the log in my own eye first.

The other day I was on the phone discussing someone else’s parenting.  I suddenly remembered that in my hurried rush that morning I had done the exact thing I was condemning someone else for…. I heard this in my heart:

You, therefore, have no excuse, you who pass judgment on someone else, for at whatever point you judge another, you are condemning yourself, because you who pass judgment do the same things.

Rumors are dainty morsels that sink deep into one’s heart.
Proverbs 18:8

This dainty morsel may bring you in to new hierarchies in the church as we join other gossipers who  quickly judge those in our churches – our leaders, our pastors and their families.   How can we call ourselves Christians when we sit in dark corners hating those leading us in the church? Instead of gossiping about your pastor and his wife, pray for them. They are the first in the line of fire for attack, they need your prayer- not your judging eyes. Let’s stop all this evil and remember God has no favorites- we are all precious in His eyes.  We are all part of one body- Christ being the head

            Accept the one whose faith is weak, without quarreling over disputable matters.  One person’s faith allows them to eat anything, but another, whose faith is weak, eats only vegetables.  The one who eats everything must not treat with contempt the one who does not, and the one who does not eat everything must not judge the one who does, for God has accepted them. Who are you to judge someone else’s servant? To their own master, servants stand or fall. And they will stand, for the Lord is able to make them stand.

  God’s House is not our Club- It’s HIS HOUSE
(A house of Prayer)

             Here’s another kicker-A few years ago I met a new friend, but my “church friends” didn’t like her.  She was new to church and didn’t really talk or live the way we did, but I liked her. I invited her to a church service one night but my church friends were not happy about this. They told me she didn’t belong, if she wanted to go, she should go by herself and if I showed up with her, they didn’t want to sit with me.  Hmmmmm, I thought- do I need this drama? Should I ‘forget” I invited her and have a good time with my friends or should I call her and tell her I’m picking her up. As I sat in my car contemplating what I was about to do I heard a voice speak loudly into my heart “ My house is not your club” Agh! I didn’t need to think about that anymore. I called her and picked her up- the night was a blessing to her, her family and others.  When my friends saw I had brought her along, they said “why did you bring her?” and I answered “ The Lord told me that His house is not my club” We were all silenced, and one replied “Well that would have done it for me too” So a great lesson for us all! His house is not our clubhouse!

 Let us therefore make every effort to do what leads to peace and to mutual edification.

As I sit here and post I’m really upset with someone I know and I want to gossip and tell everyone what I think, giving no consideration to the person.  I’m quite perturbed but instead of judging this person I have decided to bring my thoughts captive to Christ. I know I am not to seek revenge, to slander, to judge, so I bring it to Christ. Sure I could confront the person in a loving way- but I’m sure most of you, as I have, have attempted this with those we know and our words go unheard. So up to the Lord I bring my thoughts. Like Joyce Meyers said “Go to the throne, not the phone”.

 “Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.  “Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye?  You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye. ] “Do not judge, and you will not be judged. Do not condemn, and you will not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven Matt 7 Luke 6:37

             Another lesson  the Lord taught me with this verse is that when we judge others, we allow judgement on ourselves. I used to think that was fine- I’d get it all in one big lashing on judgement day but in reality- as soon as we judge others – we are immediately judged. We reap what we sow- and this sin in particular sprouts overnight- like a stubborn weed or one of those weird mushrooms that shows up overnight.

     His Kindness Leads Us To Repentance

      You, therefore, have no excuse, you who pass judgment on someone else, for at whatever point you judge another, you are condemning yourself, because you who pass judgment do the same things.  Now we know that God’s judgment against those who do such things is based on truth.  So when you, a mere human being, pass judgment on them and yet do the same things, do you think you will escape God’s judgment?  Or do you show contempt for the riches of his kindness, forbearance and patience, not realizing that God’s kindness is intended to lead you to repentance?

Did you notice what God’s kindness is intended to do? It is to lead us to repentance.  Being a Christian doesn’t make us sinless, in fact, if we say we have no sin, we deceive ourselves. Oooooo how many Christians think that title makes them perfect- or exempt from repenting? (I think that is a lie the devil whispers in our ear)  We must ask the Lord to search our heart for any sin lurking in there, we must repent and change.  I haven’t heard repentance preached in a while have you? It’s not a popular subject today. No one is exempt from repentance. So we who judge the speck in our neighbors eye, need to stop and focus on the log in our own eye.

      Therefore judge nothing before the appointed time; wait until the Lord comes. He will bring to light what is hidden in darkness and will expose the motives of the heart. At that time each will receive their praise from God.  1 Cor 4;5

 Search me, God, and know my heart;  test me and know my anxious thoughts.
 See if there is any offensive way in me,  and lead me in the way everlasting Ps 139:23-24

Psalm 101:5 I will not tolerate people who slander their neighbors. I will not endure conceit and pride
Ephesians 4:31 Get rid of all bitterness, rage, anger, harsh words, and slander, as well as all types of evil behavior
Proverbs 25:10 Others may accuse you of gossip, and you will never regain your good reputation
Proverbs 26:20 Fire goes out without wood, and quarrels disappear when gossip stops

OUR JUDGING OTHERS SHOWS US THAT WE NEED TO WORK ON OUR OWN HARD, STUBBORN, CALLOUSED AND UNREPENTANT HEARTS. JUDGING OTHERS STORES UP WRATH AND TERRIBLE PUNISHMENT WITHIN OUR HEART.
But because of your stubbornness and your unrepentant heart, you are storing up wrath against yourself for the day of God’s wrath , when his righteous judgment will be revealed.  God “will repay each person according to what they have done.” To those who by persistence in doing good seek glory, honor and immortality, he will give eternal life. 8 But for those who are self-seeking and who reject the truth and follow evil, there will be wrath and anger. 9 There will be trouble and distress for every human being who does evil: first for the Jew, then for the Gentile; 10 but glory, honor and peace for everyone who does good: first for the Jew, then for the Gentile. 11 For God does not show favoritism.

 FOR GOD DOES NOT SHOW FAVORITISM
YOU ARE PRECIOUS TO HIM
(and so is that person you are complaining about) 

Search me, God, and know my heart;  test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me,  and lead me in the way everlasting.

🙂 Hey- are people judging you wrongly?  no worries and no fret- For the Lord your God goes out before you and fights for you. No weapon forged against you will prevail, and you will refute every tongue that accuses you. This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord, and this is their vindication from me,”declares the Lord. (this verse is a sword that goes before you-speak it over your life- for it is alive and powerful)

He will never leave you Nor forsake you. For God has said " I will not fail you I will never abandon you" heb 13:5 Peace my friends!   

May the Lord’s Peace fill your hearts and minds- eagerly awaiting the Lord’s return.