The Power of the Word taught to children

 Dear Jesus, just because.....

  Last month my parents gave me an envelope filled with old report cards, sacrament certificates, and this folded up letter I wrote to Jesus when I was 5 years old. It says so much, yet so little -simplicity/ pure sincerity in the gospel and a powerhouse in the Spirit.  I know- it’s not a complete sentence, but it was what was in my heart – He died for me – that’s all I needed, pure and simple. I remember graduating preschool with a heart on fire for Jesus. I couldn’t stop talking to others about God and all the bible stories I had learned.

   Every verse I memorized, every story I was taught and every song I sang impacted my life. The words I heard never left me and the songs I learned still ring in my mind. The verses I memorized are still in my brain! I’m so thankful I went to a Christian preschool that taught me all about Jesus and sent me into the world on fire for Him- at such a young age.  Even when I strayed off the path, I remembered the foundation I was built on. I came running (ok….wealkly crawling) back when I realized I took the wrong turn. Taking an interest in tomorrows generation for Christ is the best investment you could ever make. Don’t overlook the young ones – they are tomorrow’s leaders, tomorrow’s apostles, tomorrows teachers, tomorrow’s preachers, tomorrow’s evangelists, tomorrow’s pastors and tomorrow’s prophets.

     My sister has a 3-year-old boy who loves the Lord. At any given moment, he will stop -look up at us, and say “I have to go pray”.  He runs to his room, gets on his knees and begins to cry out and pray to the Lord!  Every once in a while he will tell us something supernatural, like last month, he woke up from a nap and told us how angels picked him up and he went into the sky, but when they put him back in his bed, “momma, it didn’t hurt.” Then last week he woke up repeating ” Momma, Momma, Moses is coming, Moses is coming! and no one can touch God! Moses is coming” I don’t know about you, but the words sent chills down my spine- I immediately remembered the 2 witnesses that the scripture tell about in the last days. My sister prayed over him before he was born and at three knows very little, yet we can see power of God’s Word spoken over his life and taught to him in song and story.

What do the scriptures tell us?

  •  Train up a child in the fear of the Lord  Psalm 34:11
  •  Teach them to your children when your sitting, when your walking, when you are in your house, when you are out of your house, when you walk down the way, when you lie down and when you rise up Deuteronomy 6:7
  • (Repeater)Teach them to your children when your sitting, when your walking, when you are in your house, when you are out of your house, when you walk down the way, when you lie down and when you rise up Deuteronomy 11:19 
  • Jesus said – “Whosoever shall receive one of such children in my name, receiveth me: and whosoever shall receive me, receiveth not me, but him that sent me.” And he took a child, and set him in the midst of them: and took him in his arms. Mark 9:36-37
  • Jesus said ” Let the children come to me. Don’t stop them! For the Kingdom of God belongs to those who are like these children. I tell you the truth, anyone who doesn’t receive the Kingdom of God like a child will never enter it.” Then he took the children in his arms and placed his hands on their heads and blessed them, Mark 10

He died for me – that’s all I needed- a lifetime of words and study, but the sincerity and simplicity of these precious words reminding me of what Jesus did for me, put everything in perspective.

  • 2 Corinthians 11:3But I fear, lest by any means, as the serpent beguiled Eve through his subtilty, so your minds should be corrupted from the simplicity that is in Christ
  • 2 Corinthians 1:12For our rejoicing is this, the testimony of our conscience, that in simplicity and godly sincerity, not with fleshly wisdom, but by the grace of God, we have had our conversation in the world, and more abundantly to you-ward
  • Romans 12:8 Or he that exhorteth, on exhortation: he that giveth, let him do it with simplicity; he that ruleth, with diligence; he that sheweth mercy, with cheerfulness

This is one of the preschool songs that I always remember- and still dance to…..maybe one day I’ll put that on youtube – jk! never!  🙂 

and I sing this to my kids all the time -it was about a slow snail… whatever, still fun to sing when everyone is in a rush

 
 Proverbs 22:6 (KJV) Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it:
 
  This verse, translated means to  properly discipline, train, dedicate in the pathway and direction. I thought it was interesting that the word go in “the way he should go” is translated as  mouth,  according to, command, spoken, talk, word- Words! WORDS SPOKEN. Teach the children the gospel. It’s not as difficult as it seems. My 7 year old can open up to psalms, read and discuss it with me (and it’s not always that dreamy – but we keep on) Having nice devotionals, books, dvd’s is nice – but it’s just about opening up the Word of God with prayer and reading – that’s it.
 
Taste and see that the Lord is good!Oh, the joys of those who take refuge in him!